White Lies by Lucy Dawson @lucydawsonbooks @Bookouture #bookreview #thriller

Standard

Title: White Lies

Author:  Lucy Dawson

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: April 20, 2018

Page Count: 302

My rating: 5 stars

About the book:

When you have everything, you have everything to lose.

Alexandra Inglis is a respected family doctor, trusted by her patients to keep their most intimate secrets. And if sometimes the boundaries between duty and desire blur… well, she’s only human.

But when Alex oversteps a line with Jonathan, one of her patients, she knows she’s gone too far. Jonathan is obsessive, and to get what he wants he will tear Alex’s world apart – threatening not only her career but her marriage and family too.

Soon Alex finds she’s capable of doing almost anything to keep hold of her perfect life, as it begins to spin dangerously out of her control…

A darkly gripping domestic drama of secrets and lies, from the bestselling author of The Daughter. Perfect for fans of Big Little Lies, Louise Jensen and The Couple Next Door.

my-review_43_orig - Edited

White Lies by Lucy Dawson is one of those rare gems that really does live up to it’s tag line of being a gripping psychological thriller with an absolutely brilliant twist. I’m filing this one in my what the heck did I just read folder.

The story starts a reader off by introducing Alexandra Inglis who is apparently waking up to a one night stand after a drunken night out with her girlfriends in Ibiza. This probably wouldn’t be a problem if Alex was single and wild and free but she’s actually a married doctor and mother of two. The problem though was her husband went down the cheating route first and in her drunken state this was her payback.

However, as we all know the story isn’t going to end with Alex slinking home and confessing her revenge lay. No, before Alex knows it she finds out that her mysterious man is actually a seventeen year old patient and so begins the story of her life slowly falling apart.

Having read another title by Lucy Dawson I already knew she was a great author that could spin an amazing tale to keep a readers attention but I wasn’t prepared for what I found in White Lies. The style in which the story is written is even a unique way to peel back the layers of the plot.

We start with Alex’s point of view but slowly it changes as the story goes on giving depth to the plot and keeping a reader guessing. This one is the type of story that once you think you know what is happening the author does an about face and totally changes everything to really make one’s head spin. And yes, in the end I would say it was an absolutely brilliant twist. Definitely recommend this one to the psychological thriller fans out there.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

I’ve been writing psychological suspense novels since 2008, when my first bestseller – His Other Lover – was published. I write full time (mostly on the playroom sofa) from my home in Devon, UK where I live with my husband and children. Before that, I used to interview the likes of Britney Spears for a living, making absolutely no use whatsoever of my psychology degree from Warwick University, but it was a lot of fun.

I’m addicted to writing about the extraordinary things that can happen to ordinary people – I like stories that jump in at the deep end, with a gasp. When readers take the time out to let me know they’ve stayed up all night because they couldn’t put the book down, it makes my day.

I really enjoy catching up with readers and always reply to emails. You can reach me at lucy@lucydawsonbooks.com. I’m also on Twitter @lucydawsonbooks and have a Facebook page at lucydawsonbooks. Alternatively you can download a free short story of mine at http://www.lucydawsonbooks.com or if you want to look at a lot of pictures of the beach and books that I’m reading, find me on Instagram at lucydawsonbooks.

Advertisements

7 responses »

    • Thanks Diana! You were definitely spot on with this one. I didn’t know who to believe or what to think shortly after starting and certainly didn’t expect the end.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s