Daughters of the Storm (Blood and Gold #1) by Kim Wilkins #bookreview #fantasy

Title: Daughters of the Storm

Author: Kim Wilkins

Publisher: Del Rey

Publication Date: March 6, 2018

Page Count: 448

My rating:  3 1/2 stars

About the book:

Five very different sisters team up against their stepbrother to save their kingdom in this Norse-flavored fantasy epic—the start of a new series in the tradition of Naomi Novik, Peter V. Brett, and Robin Hobb.

FIVE ROYAL SISTERS. ONE CROWN.

They are the daughters of a king. Though they share the same royal blood, they could not be more different. Bluebell is a proud warrior, stronger than any man and with an ironclad heart to match. Rose’s heart is all too passionate: She is the queen of a neighboring kingdom who is risking everything for a forbidden love. Ash is discovering a dangerous talent for magic that might be a gift—or a curse. And then there are the twins—vain Ivy, who lives for admiration, and zealous Willow, who lives for the gods.

But when their father is stricken by a mysterious ailment, these five sisters must embark on a desperate journey to save him and prevent their treacherous stepbrother from seizing the throne. Their mission: find the powerful witch who can cure the king. But to succeed on their quest, they must overcome their differences and hope that the secrets they hide from one another and the world are never brought to light. Because if this royal family breaks, it could destroy the kingdom.

my-review_43_orig - Edited

Daughters of the Storm  by Kim Wilkins is the first book of the Blood and Gold series. I’ve seen this one marked as a young adult fantasy but my first warning would be there is sexual content along with of course some violence to make this one more for mature readers. The story does have a bit of a historical feel to it too taking place in a time where one traveled but horse and kings ruled the lands.

The story is of course told from multiple points of view with so many characters being involved. It begins with the King being extremely ill and his wife desperately wanting someone there with her sends for her son instead of the King’s own daughters but all come to find out of the illness and come together. Wanting to save their father the adventure begins to find a way.

Now of course as I said I was bit surprised to actually find this one being more adult than I was expecting. To me the book seemed a bit like a historical read with bits of magic added in to bring a fantasy element to it but also a bit of a drama read with some of the situations with relationships going on within.

I found myself for the most part enjoying the book and where the story headed but I will admit there were times I thought perhaps it was a bit much with so many characters headed in different directions. Some of the things going on with different characters would stand out more than others making it drag a bit waiting to get back to the parts that I found more interesting. But overall this wasn’t a bad start to a series with a bit of a cliffhanger type of ending to leave open for more to come leaving me to rate this one at 3.5 stars.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author: 

Kim Wilkins was born in London and grew up at the seaside north of Brisbane, Australia. She has degrees in literature and creative writing and teaches at the University of Queensland. Her first novel, The Infernal, a supernatural thriller, was published in 1997. Since then she has published across many genres and for many different age groups. Her latest books, contemporary epic women’s fiction, are published under the pseudonym Kimberley Freeman. Wilkins has won many awards and is published all over the world. She lives in Brisbane with a bunch of lovable people and pets.

Advertisements

Categories: Uncategorized

5 replies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s