The Pact by S.E. Lynes #bookreview #thriller

Title: The Pact

Author: S.E. Lynes

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: February 27, 2018

Page Count: 342

My rating:  3 stars

About the book:

You made a promise to your sister. It could destroy your daughter.

The Daughter
15-year-old Rosie lies in hospital fighting for her life. She’s trying to tell her mother what happened to her, but she can’t speak the words out loud.

The Mother
Toni is a doting and over-protective mother, terrified for her daughter’s life. Having lost her husband in a tragic accident, Toni has dedicated her life to keeping Rosie safe from harm. She needs to know what secrets Rosie has been keeping, and how she ended up in a hospital bed – but Toni has a secret of her own…

The Pact
Thirty years ago, Toni and her sister Bridget made each other a promise: never to speak of their childhood; to protect each other without asking for help from others, no matter what…

But in order to save Rosie, Toni may have to break her lifelong promise to her sister… and open doors to her past she hoped would remain closed forever.

The Pact is a chilling psychological thriller about the lies we will tell to save our children. Perfect for fans of Gone GirlApple Tree Yard and The Sister.

my-review_43_orig

The Pact by S.E. Lynes is a psychological thriller that brings in how far one would go to protect their child. This one is an extremely slow burning thriller that begins with letting readers know that somehow this young teen has ended up in the hospital with her mother at her side.

Told by flashing back to the events leading up to how in the world this girl ended up fighting for her life the story moved along slowly. As the suspense builds it comes to be known that Toni was an overbearing mother not allowing her daughter many freedoms in an effort to protect her which has backfired into Rosie keeping too many secrets at an attempt to have some teenage fun.

Also during the time that the book is flashing back to Rosie’s activities with Toni’s attempts to protect her daughter and her sister Bridge’s attempts to loosen Toni’s reign the author starts introducing the sister’s past which led to who they are now when raising Rosie the way they had been.

For me this one was just so incredibly slow that it was tough to be interested for the first half of the book. It’s not really until 60-70% or so that the story picks up the pace a bit and really starts unraveling what has happened as all of the secrets came crashing down. There were also parts that I’d guessed early on with so few characters involved so I wasn’t overly surprised so in the end this one was just an OK read for me.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author: 

After graduating from Leeds University, S E Lynes lived in London before moving to Aberdeen where she worked as a producer at the BBC before moving with her husband, Paul, and two young children to Rome.
In Rome, she began to write while her children attended nursery. After the birth of her third child and upon her return to the UK, she gained an MA in Creative Writing from Kingston University.
She now combines writing with lecturing at Richmond Adult Community College and bringing up her three children. She lives in Teddington.
Her debut novel, VALENTINA, was published by Blackbird July 1st 2016. VALENTINA is a psychological thriller set in Aberdeenshire. MOTHER was published by Bookouture in November 2017 and her third novel, THE PACT is out 27th February 2018.

Advertisements

Categories: Uncategorized

7 replies

    • I could be being super picky going through so many so fast but I went a little click crazy for the end of this month and have done nothing but read trying to get them done. But then again I don’t know that anything I’ve mentioned wouldn’t still have popped out reading a book a week, maybe more so.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s