The Lying Kind (Detective Rachel Prince #1) by Alison James @bookouture #bookreview #thriller

Standard

Title: The Lying Kind

Author: Alison James

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: February 7, 2018

Page Count: 315

My rating:  4 1/2 stars

About the book:

The little girl stirred and opened her eyes. A light from the landing played a shadow across her toy cupboard. It was then she realised… There was someone else in the room.

Six-year-old Lola Jade Harper has gone missing from her bedroom on a safe, suburban street.

Her mother says her ex-husband has stolen their daughter. Lola’s father denies it was him.

Family, friends and neighbours all say they didn’t see a thing. But someone must know where the little girl is. Who is lying? And who is telling the truth?

Detective Rachel Prince knows the longer a child is unaccounted for, the less likely they are to be found alive.

The clock is ticking. It’s up to Rachel to find Lola Jade, before it’s too late.
And then another little girl is taken…

Truly addictive from start to finish, The Lying Kind is a nail-bitingly tense crime thriller by one of the best new voices in crime fiction. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Peter James and Karin Slaughter.

my-review_43_orig

The Lying Kind by Alison James is the first book in the new police procedural thriller series, Detective Rachel Prince. The book introduces readers to a new detective in Rachel while she investigates a high profile case of a missing little girl. As the investigation goes on there is more and more to be uncovered and solved in this story.

This first look at Rachel and her colleagues was a pretty intense one knowing there was a child who had gone missing without a trace to her whereabouts. Of course the family is looked at closely with suspicion thrown on the father who was in the middle of divorce proceedings and custody battles.

The nice thing about this series to me seemed to be how the author portrays and investigation. Police works is not all action and adventure in a case like this but sometimes a lot of paperwork and tedious tasks to get anywhere. This was actually portrayed a bit more realistically than some books are.

I would say though I can see not all readers liking the main character in this series. Rachel is one that is on the gritty, no nonsense side of a detective and would often read more to me like a male than a female, not that it was bad to me. But there was also some things going on in the book that I can see as making her not come across as particularly likable but when finished and while I wasn’t oohing and aahing over her just yet I still didn’t mind her.

The thing that solidified my rating on this one though was the way the author wrapped up the story. The outcome was one that I wasn’t expecting because quite honestly I don’t think I’ve ever read or seen it done before. Of course that’s my own experience and perhaps it has been done but I’m always impressed by that twist that I haven’t seen or didn’t expect. So in the end a nice solid start to this series that I’d only take a slight bit off at 4.5 and hope Rachel wins me over more in the next installment.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

 

Advertisements

27 responses »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s