Liars by Frances Vick #bookreview #thriller

36594694

Title: Liars

Author: Frances Vick

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: January 26, 2018

Page Count: 431

My rating:  2 stars

About the book:

He loves you. He’d do anything for you. But you don’t even know his name.

Jenny hasn’t had an easy life – no job and no money, with a sick mother and an abusive ex-stepfather. Not that anybody cares, she’s from the wrong side of town.

David has taken care of Jenny ever since they were at school together. He knows how special she is, how much she needs his support. David has a lot of love to give.

Jenny and David aren’t in a relationship. They aren’t even friends.

Jenny thinks she’s free to do what she wants, see who she likes. What does David think? Well, you’ll have to find out.

A gripping psychological thriller about the lies we tell ourselves, perfect for fans of Friend RequestThe Couple Next Door and Teresa Driscoll.

my-review_43_orig

Liars by Frances Vick is one of those books that unfortunately everyone else seems to love except me. When picking this one up I was hoping for a psychological thriller that would have me on the edge of my seat and glued to my Kindle until finished, instead I really struggled to make it through this entire story.

The story begins with Jenny who seems to have just lost her mother in a tragic accident. Now this alone should pull me into the book and really feel for the character but instead I quickly found myself not liking Jenny. Then later when David enters the story I also found myself disliking him so needless to say it was really hard to get into reading this one.

Now I do seem to be in the minority on this one as it seems most reviewers so far are loving it so my dislike of the characters doesn’t mean that others will also dislike them. What I was hoping for though to make up for this was to find some amazing twists and turns then possibly still like the story but as many thrillers as I read I just didn’t find this one standing out much to rate any higher myself. Unfortunately when all was said and done this one just didn’t seem to be my cup of tea but I would check out other reviews before making a decision for yourselves.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

A1vnBbDx9+L._SY200_

About the author:

The only child of parents who worked at a top security psychiatric hospital, Frances Vick grew up receiving disquieting notes and presents from the patients. Expelled from school, she spent the next few years on the dole, augmenting her income by providing security and crewing for gigs, and being a medical experiment guinea pig. Later jobs included working in a theatre in Manhattan, teaching English in Japanese Junior High Schools, and being a life model in Italy, before coming back to London and working with young offenders and refugees. Her first novel ‘Chinaski’ was published in 2014, her second, bestselling novel ‘Bad Little Girl’ came out in February 2017. ‘The Good Liar’ is out on pre-order now.

 

 

Advertisements

Categories: Uncategorized

12 replies

  1. I am sorry to hear that especially because I am just about to start reading this book lol. I had seen previous reviews about the book that convinced me to give it a try. I hope that yo will enjoy your next read.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s