The Adventures of Alexis Davenport by Shay West

The Adventures of Alexis DavenportThe Adventures of Alexis Davenport by Shay West
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The Adventures of Alexis Davenport is the complete collection of the Alexis Davenport series by author Shay West. The three books included are Dangerous Reflections, Twisted Reflections and Desperate Reflections.

After Alexis’s mother and father divorce her mother moves her to a new city to live with an aunt until the pair can get back on their feet. Dealing with a new city, a new school and making new friends is overwhelming enough but then Alex sees a strange reflection in the mirror instead of her own.

After seeing the strange woman a few times the next thing Alex knows she feel a pull to touch the mirror and ends up finding herself traveling back in time and in the mystery women’s body. She has access to the stranger’s memories so lives in their shoes during each time jump but soon comes to the conclusion that her trips have a greater purpose, to help save the world from an evil time jumper.

This was really a fun read from start to finish. The three books take place over the course of several years, basically Alex’s time during her high school years as she navigates making new friends, boyfriends, learning to drive and her mother beginning to date again.

There are several jumps back into history all throughout the read which were fun to witness. Alex has always loved learning about history and seems to soak the information in as she reads so when she times jumps she would know the time/situations she would find herself in and be able to handle the situations.

Really my one complaint during the read came with it becoming a bit too teenage angsty in places during the current story line. I think this was really more apparent towards the third book with her mother beginning to date but of course that’s something a teenager would have to come to terms with after a divorce.

Otherwise, I found this a really fun read and would recommend checking it out. Each book seemed to have a bit of a cliffhanger ending to it so picking up the collection let me read all three straight through which was great.

I received a copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Categories: Uncategorized

2 replies

    • It’s was a pretty cute little read. Having the whole set I remembered at the end of the first book I was glad I could continue on because the whole thing really read like one long book, wouldn’t have wanted to stop after the first as the story just kept going.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s