Burning Midnight by Will McIntosh

Burning MidnightBurning Midnight by Will McIntosh
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

For almost a decade people have been finding magical spheres hidden all around the planet. When two are used together they give the person different improvements to themselves such as a better singing voice, whiter teeth, run faster, better hearing etc. The better the improvement the more rare and expensive each sphere with every different color giving a different outcome.

Sully is a teenager that makes a part time income buying and selling spheres at the local flea market. A few years before Sully had become famous for finding a new cherry red color of sphere but had been cheated out of his promised fee from the corrupt businessman Alex Holliday.

Sully meets Hunter, a teenage girl that spends all of her timing hunting out rare spheres to make a living from selling them. Hunter isn’t quick to trust anyone but Sully soon convinces her to team up with him to go hunting and the duo soon start finding spheres together but after a big find they find themselves back to dealing with Alex Holliday.

Reading the book synopsis it had said for fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave, I have read the Maze Runner and didn’t see much similarity to that other than the male lead but I haven’t read The Fifth Wave yet to make any comparison there. However, what this definitely reminded me of yet again was Ready Player One by Earnest Cline.

There isn’t a virtual element to the story this time but what we have are the two teenagers working to find these spheres before the evil corporate head Holliday can find them first or do anything he can to stop them. Even the name Holliday is similar to the name of the game creator Halliday in Ready Player One.

That being said though this story has a complete life of it’s own taking place in what seems like our world but with these mysterious spheres. Enjoyed the creative improvements that each could do and the debate on whether people should even be messing with something they didn’t understand. The ending really worked well in my opinion explaining everything I had been questioning in an exciting conclusion.

Great read, fast paced and engaging, would definitely recommend checking out this one.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Categories: Uncategorized

4 replies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s