Greece Actually by Sue Roberts #bookreview #contemporary #romance

Title: Greece Actually

Author: Sue Roberts

Publisher:  Bookouture

Publication Date: August 13, 2021

My rating: 3 1/2 stars

About the book:

Take one sea-view villa, add two dates with a Greek God, a few glasses of wine, a dash of accidental nudity, and a heavy dose of sunshine. Recipe for a perfect getaway… or an absolute disaster?

Small, shy, safe. That’s how Becky lives ever since her last romantic calamity landed her in hospital. Her comfort zone is as confining as her tiny bank balance, and fiercely guarded by her totally over-the-top mum. But the news that her ex is back sniffing round is the final straw. In a very un-Becky move, she packs her bags for the Greek island of Skiathos. Maybe the setting of her favourite ABBA movie will be just the break from reality Becky needs…

Stepping aboard the Mamma Mia! boat tour, Becky leaves her fear in the port as she sings… out loud… in public, and cries Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! to everything the Greek life has to offer. She befriends locals young, old, and absolutely perfect (hello, sizzling hot restaurant-owner Kyros!), dines on freshly baked bread drizzled in golden olive oil on a starlit date, and walks barefoot along silky sandy beaches.

When Kyros asks her to stay longer, Becky is stunned. Could she really create a new life for herself here, and trust her heart with this smooth-talking charmer? But just as she’s thinking about putting down roots, her troublesome ex makes a dramatic return, begging for her back. Will she go back to playing it safe, or will she take a chance on Greece and embrace her true dancing queen?

An absolutely laugh-out-loud summer rom-com guaranteed to give you THAT holiday feeling! Perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Jenny Colgan and Sophie Kinsella.

Greece Actually by Sue Roberts is a contemporary romance read. This one is short and sweet and perfect for those that love to travel to exotic locales in their books being set in the Greek island of Skiathos.

Becky has done her best to start her life over after a relationship ended with her in the hospital and her ex in jail. When Becky’s uncle offers her a chance to stay in his villa in Skiathos and bring a couple of friends she can’t resist the offer and quickly invites her best friends Paige and Abby.

After the ladies arrive on the island they make the most of their getaway getting out exploring and enjoying the culture. On one of their many ventures around the island Abby meets a sexy Greek by the name of Kyros and takes him up on his offers of showing her around. When Abby’s friends head home she spends even more time with Kyros and wonders how she can ever return to her life and leave him behind.

If I were to grade Greece Actually by Sue Roberts strictly on the setting it would easily be a book that rated five stars for me. And if I were grading this one on simply being a fun vacation for a group of ladies I believe it would still be right up there. The thing that brought my rating to three and a half stars was this is supposed to be a romance and that part of the story seemed rushed and lacking. It is overall a short, quick read so if there were as much depth put into the romance that there was the setting it would have been great. Regardless though being one that loves a good setting I still enjoyed my time in Greece and would read this author again.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon **

About the author:

Sue was born in Liverpool and moved to Lancashire as a teenager where she has lived ever since. Her fifth book ‘As Greek As it Gets.’ will be published on May the18th 2020, with another sunshine book scheduled for August!
When not busy writing, Sue spends her time with her ever growing family and enjoys walking, cinema and travelling. Her first book ‘My Big Greek Summer.’ was inspired by frequent visits to the Island of Rhodes in Greece. All Sue’s books are available from Amazon in kindle and paperback format.

**This is an Amazon affiliate link which will allow me as an associate to earn a small commision on any purchase made through the link of the products I share and that commission in no way changes the pricing of any items for the buyer.

8 Comments on “Greece Actually by Sue Roberts #bookreview #contemporary #romance

  1. I love traveling vicariously right now, so I am going to request this one, even if the romance is not strong. At least I know that going in.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Very true Sandy, I wish it was just a contemporary and I would have been at least 4 if not 5 but sadly for romance it didn’t seem like much there.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely review. Interesting, because I just read a book, and rated it lower for the same reason you did. It seems like the romance took a back seat, and it was all about the location.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Wendy! I actually love a book with a great setting but this one is supposed to be romance and the relationship seemed to be an afterthought so as much as I loved the Greek Island it didn’t seem right to rate too high.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply to Carrie Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: