Crownchasers (Crownchasers #1) by Rebecca Coffindaffer #bookreview #YA #fantasy #scifi

Title: Crownchasers

Author: Rebecca Coffindaffer

Publisher:  HarperTeen

Publication Date: September 29, 2020

Page Count:  384

My rating: 4 stars

About the book:

A deadly race across 1,001 planets will determine more than just the fate of the empire.

This explosive first book in a duology jam-packed with tension and thrills is perfect for fans of The Hunger GamesAurora Rising, and Three Dark Crowns.

Alyssa Farshot has spent her whole life trying to outrun her family legacy, even leaving behind the Kingship and her uncle, the emperor, for a life of exploring.

But when her dying uncle announces a crownchase—a search for the royal seal hidden in the empire that will determine the next ruler—Alyssa is thrust into her greatest, most dangerous adventure yet.

Crownchasers by Rebecca Coffindaffer is the first book in a new young adult science fiction fantasy series by the same name, Crownchasers, and is meant to be a duology.  Of course as with most fantasy series this first book in the beginning of the story and it will continue into the next so it’s best to read the entire series from beginning to end and not as a standalone.

Crownchasers introduces readers to Alyssa Farshot who wants nothing to do with ruling the galaxy, she leaves that to her uncle who has been emperor for decades now after Alyssa’s mother helped bring peace. Despite the family legacy Alyssa only wants to be free, out exploring the galaxy and not trapped inside the family palace.

However, when Alyssa gets the news that her uncle is dying and he hasn’t named her as his successor but instead called for a crownchase to decide the next ruler she can’t help but wonder. Alyssa is expected to still represent her family in the crownchase along with those from other prominent families. Alyssa knows her uncle would want her to compete and she is favored to win but she never expects the race will turn deadly.

Crownchasers is a perfect example of why even though I feel I can sometimes be overly picky with the young adult fantasy genre I still continue to read them. This book was a lot of fun and moved at an excellent pace that kept my interest throughout reading even if it was a bit lengthy overall. While it did remind me a tad of other past fantasies I’d read it definitely had it’s own unique story that kept me compelled while reading and always had my interest. This is definitely a series that I would like to finish and will be on the lookout for book two.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon **

About the author:

Rebecca Coffindaffer (she/they) grew up on Star Wars, Star Trek, fantastical movies and even more fantastical books. They waited a long time for their secret elemental powers to develop, and in the interim, they started writing stories about magic and politics, spaceships, far-off worlds, and people walking away from explosions in slow motion. These days they live in Kansas with their family, surrounded by a lot of books and a lot of tabletop games and one big fuzzy dog. They’re the author of the young adult space opera duology CROWNCHASERS and THRONEBREAKERS from HarperTeen.

**This is an Amazon affiliate link which will allow me as an associate to earn a small commision on any purchase made through the link of the products I share and that commission in no way changes the pricing of any items for the buyer.

2 Comments on “Crownchasers (Crownchasers #1) by Rebecca Coffindaffer #bookreview #YA #fantasy #scifi

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: