Memories of Wild Rose Bay (Sandy Cove #5) by Susanne O’Leary #bookreview #romance

Title: Memories of Wild Rose Bay

Author: Susanne O’Leary

Publisher:  Bookouture

Publication Date: August 6, 2020

Page Count:  274

My rating: 4 stars

About the book:

A feel-good love story about taking chances and finding yourself, set under the endless, twinkling stars of the Wild Atlantic Way.

When Kate O’Rourke takes up a temporary position as a doctor in Sandy Cove, she hopes spending time in the place where her father was from will help her find herself again. Ever since his passing she has felt lost, but she imagines the calming sound of the sea on the Irish coast will allow her to heal.

Kate immediately feels at home in the old surgery, and as she takes walks beside the camellia bushes along Wild Rose Bay and meets every resident in the tiny village, she feels like this is where she’s meant to be. And when she’s told about local healer Cormac O’Shea, she’s excited to learn even more about the history of the area, and meet the man who every woman in town says is so charming.

But Kate quickly realises that she and Cormac have different ideas about how their patients should be treated. Kate is efficient and well-organised, whilst Cormac is wild and spontaneous, passionate about his ancestors’ reliance on Irish healing. And their differences cause more sparks than Kate is prepared to admit.

Just as Kate and Cormac begin to understand one another, Kate’s old life threatens to call her away from Sandy Cove forever. And she is finally forced to decide what life she wants to lead, and what kind of person she wants to be…

A beautiful story about finding love in Ireland, Memories of Wild Rose Bay is a gorgeously uplifting read. Fans of Debbie Macomber, Sheila O’Flanagan and Mary Alice Monroe won’t stop turning the pages.

Memories of Wild Rose Bay by Susanne O’Leary is the fifth book in the contemporary romance Sandy Cove series. As with a lot of romance series each book in the Sandy Cove series changes the main characters so each can be read and understood as a standalone if choosing to do so. However, for those following from the beginning there are glimpses of previous characters in each new book of the series.

Kate O’Rourke is new to Sandy Cove moving there to be where her father had came from to try to find herself again after the lose of her father. Kate has taken the job of Sandy Cove’s doctor as a temporary position to see how she feels about her new home.

Kate quickly begins to feel at home as she walks along Wild Rose Bay and meets all the towns folk. One man in particular stands out to Kate in the small town and that is Cormac O’Shea. Cormac was the town healer until Kate came along and the two have very different ways of approaching medicine and their patients.

I have been following the Sandy Cove series since it began and have fallen in love with the quaint little town on the Irish coast. The characters/residents of Sandy Cove are always likable as you get to know each of their stories and this time was no different with Kate and Cormac. I enjoy the sweet way the story unfolds with each book in the series and will be happy to return to Sandy Cove again in the future.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon **

About the author:

Susanne O’Leary is the bestselling author of more than twenty novels, mainly in the romantic fiction genre. She has also written three crime novels and two in the historical fiction genre. She has been the wife of a diplomat (still is), a fitness teacher and a translator. She now writes full-time from either of two locations, a ramshackle house in County Tipperary, Ireland or a little cottage overlooking the Atlantic in Dingle, County Kerry. When she is not scaling the mountains of said counties, or keeping fit in the local gym, she keeps writing, producing a book every six months.

Visit Susanne at her website, http://www.susanne-oleary.co.uk

**This is an Amazon affiliate link which will allow me as an associate to earn a small commision on any purchase made through the link of the products I share and that commission in no way changes the pricing of any items for the buyer.

4 Comments on “Memories of Wild Rose Bay (Sandy Cove #5) by Susanne O’Leary #bookreview #romance

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: