The Woman in the Water by Kelly Heard #bookreview #thriller

Title: The Woman in the Water

Author: Kelly Heard

Publisher:  Bookouture

Publication Date: July 22, 2021

Page Count:  345

My rating: 2 1/2 stars

About the book:

I know my sister didn’t die by accident. Does someone know our secret?

I swore I’d never go home to Brightwater. It would be safer for everyone if I stayed away.

But now my sister is dead, and I am driving down the familiar highway, watching the sunlight glimmer off the lake, with the memory of her green eyes like a knife in my heart.

I know Holly didn’t slip and drown out by the old boardwalk, surrounded by trees and dark water. She would never have gone there, if she had a choice.

Her little girls need me now. I couldn’t save Holly, but I must protect them.

Because if whoever killed Holly knows what we did all those years ago, out on the water, then I need to find them before they come after me.

But how can I, when there are still so many things I don’t know about what really happened that night?

An absolutely gripping, twisty psychological thriller about secrets between sisters that will keep you turning the pages late into the night. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the TrainThe Woman in the Window and The Silent Patient.

The Woman in the Water by Kelly Heard is a slow paced psychological thriller. I would first warn readers that this author’s writing style is a bit different from your normal thrillers in the way romance seems to overpower the storyline as I also found in an other book I’d read. Even being a romance fan it would seem that it didn’t really mix well for me in these books. 

The story in this one features Felicity who had left her home and her family years before when a mysterious event in her past forced her away. Felicity seems to have kept in touch with her sister, Holly, over the years so it rocks her world when she receives the news that Holly is gone. Felicity has been named as guardian to Holly’s children so she returns home to take care of them and find out just what happened to Holly. 

The first thing about The Woman in the Water that didn’t overjoy me while reading was it goes at a really slow pace not letting you in on things for quite a long time. As someone who loves to be drawn in and on edge with this genre I feel like it was just too slow for me. As I also mentioned the protagonist returned to an old relationship in the story and with the lack of urgency in the mystery it felt as if this was just too focused on that relationship instead of giving me any huge twists or turns I crave. Others have enjoyed this one but for me it only rates at two and half stars with a style that just isn’t my personal favorite. 

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon **

About the author:

Kelly Heard is a novelist from Afton, Virginia. She published poetry in literary magazines before signing her debut novel, Before You Go, with Bookouture.

Kelly prefers writing to most other pastimes, but you’ll occasionally find her in the garden, hiking, or exploring antique shops.

For more updates, follow Kelly on Twitter: @kheardbooks

Website: http://www.kellyheardbooks.com

**This is an Amazon affiliate link which will allow me as an associate to earn a small commision on any purchase made through the link of the products I share and that commission in no way changes the pricing of any items for the buyer.

8 Comments on “The Woman in the Water by Kelly Heard #bookreview #thriller

  1. Thanks for your honest review, Carrie. The blurb had me quite excited and wondering how I had missed this, but the same things that annoyed you, would also have annoyed me. Pleased now that I didn’t request this. ❤📚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Kim! I definitely was disappointed, at one point it seemed the mystery was whether the couple was getting back together.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh no, I have this one to read and I am now not too anxious to get to it. Too bad this has too much that you don’t like in it Carrie. Nice, Honest review. Better luck with your next thriller.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: