The Shore House (Dewberry Beach #1) by Heidi Hostetter #bookreview #contemporary #family

Title: The Shore House

Author: Heidi Hostetter

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: July 20, 2020

Page Count: 284

My rating:  4 stars

About the book:

When the Bennett family arrive at the shore house to spend the summer together, they bring more baggage than just suitcases…

When Kaye Bennett, matriarch of the Bennett family, summons her adult children to the shore house, she anticipates a vacation full of nostalgia. It’s a chance to relive the carefree joy of summers past: basking in the hot sun, cooling off in the surf and enjoying long, relaxing evenings watching fireflies on the deck. But when Kaye’s son and daughter arrive, late and uncooperative, it becomes clear the family desperately need to reconnect.

Kaye and her daughter Stacy have been quietly at odds for years and resentment has grown around words unsaid. Faced with spending the summer months in such close quarters, Kaye is determined to remind Stacy of happier times and why she once loved their beautiful beachside home.

But both Kaye and Stacy are holding something back. And only when a heart-stopping accident on the beach puts what Stacy most loves at risk are the two women finally able to set free the secrets in their shared past.

Will opening up to each other about what’s in their hearts allow the Bennett family to finally heal? A story of love, forgiveness and the power of family bonds, The Shore House is a heartfelt summer read, perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand, Pamela Kelley and Nancy Thayer.

my-review_43_orig

The Shore House by Heidi Hostetter is the first book of the new contemporary woman’s fiction Dewberry Beach series. Now Dewberry Beach is the setting of this family saga and according to the author the continuation of the series will feature a new family in the same location which was a rather quaint small town. With each being different characters though they all could be read as a standalone if choosing to do so.

This first installment of the series features the Bennett family. Kaye, the matriarch of the family wants nothing other than to gather up her son and daughter and have them come to the shore with her and her husband. Kaye uses her husbands illness to pull at the sympathy of her grown children to bring them all together.

Stacy Bennett and her mother Kaye have never really seen eye to eye as she always felt Kaye favored her brother. Stacy’s husband convinces her that maybe a summer together with family is just what she and her children need though so they agree to Kaye’s plans. The summer however does not go as all had planned but maybe that’s what this family really needed.

I actually really enjoyed reading the tale of the Bennett family and thought this one is a great beach read. As with any family there are layers to each member and with the Bennetts a few secrets from the past to uncover. Really ever member is finding their new path to continue on in life so there was plenty of things that kept the pages turning all throughout.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  / Amazon

About the author:

Heidi Hostetter grew up in New Jersey and spent summers at her grandparents’ house on the shore. Every magical thing was there, from sparklers and fireflies at night to whole days spent swimming in the ocean and exploring tide pools. She moved to South Carolina for college where Southern culture inspired the Lowcountry novels. Her first job brought her to the Pacific Northwest, where she lived long enough to appreciate the rain and the mountains and to write the Inlet Beach novels. She and her family have recently moved back across the country to the DC-area and live in a one hundred-year-old house that’s definitely haunted.

When she’s not writing – or reading, you can probably find her digging in her garden, ripping back a knitting project, or burning dinner. She’s recently learned to kayak on the Potomac and is always up for a trip to a bookstore, no matter how far away.

Heidi is currently at work on the second book in the New Jersey Shore series. Her writing partner, a labradoodle named Emmett shares her office, keeping a careful watch for errant squirrels and neighborhood shenanigans.

She loves to hear from readers and answers all her own mail. You can find her here:

Facebook Author Page: facebook.com/AuthorHeidiHostetter/
Facebook Reading Group: facebook.com/groups/636728933179573
Goodreads: Goodreads.com/HeidiHostetter
Website: http://www.HeidiHostetter.com
Twitter: @HeidiHostetter

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s