A Whisker in the Dark (The Oyster Cove Guesthouse #2) + A Purrfect Alibi (The Oyster Cove Guesthouse #3) by Leighann Dobbs #bookreview #mystery

Title: A Whisker in the Dark

Author: Leighann Dobbs

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: July 31, 2019

Page Count: 223

My rating: 4 stars

About the book:

Discovering the 300-year-old skeleton of shipping tycoon Jedediah Biddeford in the ballroom wall is a big old hassle for Josie Waters, owner of the Oyster Cove Guesthouse. Especially when Biddeford’s descendants turn up, certain that a family legend about treasure buried nearby must be true.

Josie is too busy dreaming up the perfect cake for the Oyster Cove’s 250th anniversary celebration to worry about the Biddeford family – plus half the town – digging up her yard… until one of her guests is murdered in the guesthouse garden.

With worries that her guesthouse will get a reputation for being the kind of place you only leave in a body bag, Josie must put her detective skills to work to find the killer. Lucky for her, Nero and Marlowe and their gang of cat sleuths are also on the case.

From the old wharf, to the town common, to the guesthouse itself with its many nooks and crannies, the cats are sure to sniff out the killer… but can they help Josie stop the person behind the mysterious murder before they strike again?

A fantastic page-turner from a bestselling author, perfect for fans of H.Y. Hanna, Adele Abbott, cat lovers and everyone in between!

Title: A Purrfect Alibi

Author: Leighann Dobbs

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: September 18, 2019

Page Count: 218

My rating: 4 stars

About the book:

Fortune tellers and mediums have descended on the Oyster Cove Guesthouse, determined to finally solve the mystery of local seafarer Jedediah Biddeford’s murder 300 years ago. New owner Josie Waters has suddenly got bigger problems than burning the breakfasts: she’s up to her elbows in tarot cards and tea leaves…

When one of the mediums is found dead with an ominous note nearby, everything points to Jedediah’s ghost being the culprit. Suddenly, Josie finds that the fate of her guesthouse depends on not one murder but two, and she’s not going to rely on a crystal ball for answers. Despite the fact that cookbooks and candlesticks keep mysteriously falling off tables, Josie is sure there’s no such thing as ghosts. But guesthouse cats Nero and Marlowe know better…

Aided by her mom and eccentric family friend Millie, Josie sets out to prove the identity of the killer without summoning any spirits. Luckily Nero and Marlowe know the truth about ghosts, ghouls and things that go bump in the night and they are on the case! Can they make Josie realize she is scratching up the wrong tree before the killer strikes again?

From the bestselling author of the USA Today bestselling Mystic Notch series, purrfect for fans of Adele Abbott, H.Y. Hanna and anybody who loves to curl up with a page-turning cozy mystery.

my-review_43_orig

Yes, you are seeing double today with a two for one review special. A Whisker in the Dark and A Purrfect Alibi by Leighann Dobbs are books two and three of the cozy The Oyster Cove Guesthouse series and since I read them together from my catch up pile I thought  the reviews would pretty much mirror one another so in the interest of me not typing it all twice and you reading it  twice I’m doing both in one go.

The Oyster Cove Guesthouse series is one that has a slight twist to the normal cozy formula of a sleuthing amatuer with  it’s lead, Josie Waters, sharing the stories point of view with two sleuthing kitties who get to share their voices and also help solve the mystery. The formula is still the same though in which each book has an all new mystery to solve so they can be read as a standalone if choosing to do so.

In A Twist in the Tail we meet Josie Waters who had wanted to completely start over in life after her divorce and get away from her ex-husband. Moving from Ohio to Maine Josie purchased the Oyster Cove Guesthouse, a Victorian mansion turned into a bed and breakfast. After solving (with some kitty help) one mystery Josie has a couple more in books two and three now.

Being one that loves different of course I seek out these types of book that bend the mold of genre norms and being a sucker for cute critters I adored the antics of the resident felines as they help their clueless human (their words not mine) solve a crime. I actually like Josie quite a bit too and don’t think she’s as clueless as her pets seem to think and have plenty of laughs along the way not only due to the felines but some creative secondary characters. So I definitely do recommend checking out this lovely cozy series.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

USA Today bestselling author, Leighann Dobbs, discovered her passion for writing after a twenty year career as a software engineer. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband Bruce, their trusty Chihuahua mix Mojo and beautiful rescue cat, Kitty. When she’s not reading, gardening, making jewelry or selling antiques, she likes to write cozy mystery and historical romance books.

Her book “Dead Wrong” won the “Best Mystery Romance” award at the 2014 Indie Romance Convention.

Her book “Ghostly Paws” was the 2015 Chanticleer Mystery & Mayhem First Place category winner in the Animal Mystery category.

Don’t miss out on the early buyers discount on Leighann’s next cozy mystery – get a TEXT alert straight on your cellphone.
– For Cozy Mystery alerts, just text COZYMYSTERY to 88202
– For Romance alerts text ROMANCE to 88202

Categories: Uncategorized

1 reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s