The Missing Season by Gillian French #bookreview #YA #mystery

Title: The Missing Season

Author: Gillian French

Publisher: HarperTeen

Publication Date: May 21, 2019

Page Count: 304

My rating: 3 stars

About the book:

From the author of Edgar Award finalist Grit and The Lies They Tell comes a tense, atmospheric novel for fans of E. Lockhart and Marieke Nijkamp, about friendship, truth, and the creeping fears that can’t be outrun.

Whenever another kid goes missing in October, the kids in the old factory town of Pender know what is really behind it: a monster out in the marshes that they call the Mumbler.

That’s what Clara’s new crew tells her when she moves to town. Bree and Sage, who take her under their wing. Spirited Trace, who has taken the lead on this year’s Halloween prank war. And magnetic Kincaid, whose devil-may-care attitude and air of mystery are impossible for Clara to resist.

Clara doesn’t actually believe in the Mumbler—not like Kinkaid does. But as Halloween gets closer and tensions build in the town, it’s hard to shake the feeling that there really is something dark and dangerous in Pender. Lurking in the shadows. Waiting to bring the stories to life.

my-review_43_orig

The Missing Season by Gillian French is a young adult mystery/thriller. The main character, Clara is a perpetual new girl in town so she wasn’t surprised when her dad’s construction jobs had them moving to Pender, a depressed New England town.

Being constantly the new girl in every town and school Clara was used to being a loner but this time in Pender seemed to be going differently, Clara quickly found herself with a new group of friends. While the group welcomed Clara they were known as the troublemakers of the town.

Bree and Sage, the girls Clara finds herself closest to soon have her doing things like skipping school and hanging out at the skate park to meet boys. There is one boy Clara has her eyes on but what really catches her attention is the tales the others tell of the Mumbler. Closing in on Halloween legend has it the Mumbler will be out looking for  the next victim.

The Missing Season by Gillian French was an extremely atmospheric and creepy read being set in this rundown town and with it’s spooky Mumbler legend. However, I think the setting and atmosphere out shined the actual mystery and character development. The mystery was just so-so to me by the end and add in some  typical teen love triangle trope to the  romance this one seemed to fall flat after a great beginning.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via Edelweiss.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Gillian French is the author of three novels for teens: GRIT (HarperTeen, 5/16/2017), THE DOOR TO JANUARY (Islandport Press, 9/5/2017), and THE LIES THEY TELL (HarperTeen, 5/2/2018). Her short fiction has placed in Writer’s Digest and Zoetrope: All Story contests, as well as appearing in Odd Tree Press Quarterly, Creepy Campfire Stories (for Grownups): Tales of Extreme Horror, Sanitarium Magazine, and The Realm Beyond. She holds a BA in English from the University of Maine, and lives in her native state of Maine with her husband and sons, where she’s perpetually at work on her next novel.

Advertisements

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s