Queen of Sea and Stars (Daughter of Light and Shadows #2) by Anna McKerrow #bookreview #fantasy

Title: Queen of Sea and Stars

Author: Anna McKerrow

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: April 5, 2019

Page Count: 346

My rating: 1 stars

About the book:

As a child, Faye Morgan was always an outsider, shunned for the ancient and powerful magic that runs through her veins.

Ever since she was a little girl, growing up in the village of Abercolme on the wild coast of Scotland, Faye Morgan’s life has been steeped in the old ways – witchcraft, herbal lore and a blood connection to the dangerous and unpredictable world of Faerie.

But magic is both a gift and a burden, and Faye has more than paid the price of living between two worlds. Neither accepted by the villagers, nor welcome in the Faerie kingdom of Murias after rebuffing the fickle and attractive Faerie warrior king, Finn Beatha, Faye runs from Abercolme, hoping to leave that life behind.

However, even in the twisted, cobbled streets of London, Faye finds her blood bond with Faerie won’t be broken. A Faerie war of the elements is brewing and, though she doesn’t yet know it, Faye is fated to play a terrible part. If she is to survive, she must learn to embrace her own dark power and face Finn Beatha once more… but in doing so Faye will discover secrets in her own past that never should have been disturbed.

A gripping, magical, action-packed novel, perfect for fans of K.F. Breene’s Natural Witch, Shannon Mayer and Laini Taylor.

This book can be read as a standalone or as part of the Elemental Kingdoms series.

The Elemental Kingdoms Series
Book 1 – Daughter of Light and Shadows
Book 2 – Queen of Sea and Stars


I have often seen reviewers say that they really didn’t want to write certain reviews and this would be one of those for me. Queen of Sea and Stars by Anna McKerrow is a book that I never should have picked up, why you ask? Well, because I wasn’t a fan of the  first book of this series.

Advertised as a fantasy series and with beautiful covers I was suckered into picking up the first of the series, Daughter of Light and Shadows, only to find that the fantasy side was a bit cookie cutter and nothing overly original and the romance side was insta-hop into bed-love. There really wasn’t any depth to the characters or anything  that would have made me want to come  back.

Now having said all of  that I’m sure you are curious as to why I ended up with book two, well when picking it up it wasn’t marked as part of a series and I was thinking it was all new, nope. The blurb now mentions that this is book two however it also mentions you don’t need to have read the first and I don’t really agree with that myself. Both are dealing with the same characters and book two takes no time at all hoping right into the erotica so I can’t imagine not having the slim amount of character depth from the first. Regardless though this obviously wasn’t for me  but I’m sure if the right readers pick these up they may love them.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Anna McKerrow has written poetry, children’s and adult books. She lives in London and is originally from the West Country, which gave her accent a subtle (yet noticeable) pirate twang as well as a love of cream teas and all things mystical.

She is an eclectic pagan witch and feminist who also loves crocheting blankets while watching episodes of Miss Marple. Anna loves mythology, magic, tarot, punk, grunge, rock and alternative music, fantasy and sci-fi novels, travel, luxury skincare products, chocolate, spas, candlelight and stormy beaches. She owns the requisite witchy black cat.

Her newest book, Daughter of Light and Shadows, is about a young woman, Faye Morgan, whose life is turned upside down when she becomes romantically involved with the attractive and capricious Faerie king Finn Beatha. Set between a tiny village in Scotland and the hedonistic and evocative world of Faerie, Daughter of Light and Shadows is a sexy and suspenseful page-turner with a dark heart. It will publish in October 2018. The second and third book in the series will follow in late 2018 and early 2019, respectively.

Categories: Uncategorized

2 replies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s