The Little Guesthouse of New Beginnings by Donna Ashcroft #bookreview #contemporary #romance

Title: The Little Guesthouse of New Beginnings

Author: Donna Ashcroft

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: March 26, 2019

Page Count: 284

My rating:   3 stars

About the book:

The Sunshine Hideaway, with its big bay windows, fresh-baked scones, and stunning view of Sunflower Island’s golden beaches, is the only place Madison Skylar has ever truly thought of as home. But returning to the guesthouse might not be as easy as she first thought…

Twenty-three-year-old Madison has been running away from the pain in her past, travelling all over the world trying to find happiness, yet her heart leads her back to her childhood home. When she arrives at The Sunshine Hideaway, she discovers the beautiful old building on the tiny island falling into disrepair. So Madison throws herself into transforming it into a stunning wellness retreat. Will this be enough to save the guesthouse, before it’s too late?

Handsome and mysterious Connor has lived on Sunflower Island his whole life. He works hard as a builder, with his faithful dog Jaws by his side, but something is missing and he dreams of bigger things. As Connor helps to revamp the guesthouse, he wonders if this could be his opportunity to tell the woman he’s secretly been in love with for years how he really feels…

As Madison embraces life on the close-knit island, sharing wine with old friends and ice-cream with quirky new neighbours, she also finds herself being drawn to shy Connor. Despite their clashes on how to paint the rooms and get ready for the grand re-opening, a heat is building between them.

But can opposites attract and find true love this summer? Or will their different personalities bring them heartache… and risk the future of the little guesthouse?

An utterly perfect, feel-good romance about the power of friendship, the meaning of home and the joy of falling in love in the sunshine. Perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Milly Johnson and Debbie Macomber.

my-review_43_orig

The Little Guesthouse of New Beginnings by Donna Ashcroft is a contemporary romance read that has the main character returning home to Sunflower Island . This one held a lot that I really liked and then some that I didn’t leaving me a bit on the  fence.

At eighteen Madison only wanted to  get away  from the small island she grew up on and took off to see the world as soon as she could. Now, five years later at twenty three Madison only wishes to  return home but  finds things a bit differently than she expected.

The one  thing not changing on Sunflower Island was Madison’s old crush, Connor. Connor had never been the warmest or friendliest to Madison so his rough personality upon Madison’s return was expected but will these two be able to put the past aside and save The Sunshine Hideaway?

Ok, so, The Little Guesthouse of New Beginnings is one of those romance reads that had such a charming setting I couldn’t help but love. I also really liked Madison and couldn’t help but wish the best  for her, however I didn’t really warm up to Connor and didn’t actually feel anything develop between them I could root for. Perhaps this was partly at least from starting off the story hiding the  truth which I’m never a fan of so in the end  this one was just a so-so story to me.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Donna Ashcroft was born in London, England and grew up in Buckinghamshire. She went to university in Lancashire and, among other things, worked as a copywriter, buyer, waitress, secretary and marketing manager.

Donna wrote novels for over ten years before being published. She is a member of the Romantic Novelists Association and was a joint winner of the Katie Fforde Bursary in 2017. Her first two books Summer at the Castle Cafe and The Little Christmas Teashop of Second Chances published in 2018.

Donna loves a happy ending and is never happier than when she’s escaping into a romance novel or movie. When she’s not reading or writing she’ll probably be found hoovering … or negotiating with her teenagers about who is doing the washing up.

You can find Donna on Twitter @Donnashc or visit her at http://www.donna-writes.co.uk

Advertisements

Categories: Uncategorized

3 replies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s