Daughter of Light and Shadows by Anna McKerrow #bookreview #fantasy #romance #paranormal

Title: Daughter of Light and Shadows

Author: Anna McKerrow

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: October 16, 2018

Page Count: 307

My rating: 2 stars

About the book:

The stranger stood in the doorway, smiling as if he knew her. His blue-green eyes were transfixing: strange, luminous – like the sea on a cloudy day…

Faye Morgan – beautiful, independent and lonely – runs her family’s small shop of magical curiosities like her mother and grandmother before her. She longs for an escape, unaware of the dark power that flows through her veins…

When Faye casts a spell into the sea one cold morning, her call brings her to the attention of the wild and impulsive faerie king Finn Beatha. Finn pulls Faye into an intoxicating new world, both magical and treacherous… and as bewitching as Finn himself, who seems to command every part of her when he’s near.

As Faye’s passion for Finn grows, so does her fear that she might be there for some darker reason… and that she could be trapped in Faerie forever. Is there something in Faye’s past connecting her to this place, to Finn? And dare she find out more when every moment draws her further away from her old world?

A gorgeously sexy and action-packed read, perfect for fans of K.F. Breene’s Natural Witch, Shannon Mayer and Laini Taylor. You’ll never want to put this book down!

my-review_43_orig

Anyone that has read even a few of my reviews may have noticed that I absolutely adore Bookouture and their titles but normally those fall into the mystery/thriller category. Seeing Daughter of Light and Shadows by Anna McKerrow listed I was quite intrigued since this one is a romantic paranormal fantasy read but unfortunately as one may guess from my rating this didn’t win me over the way other titles from the publisher have.

The story introduces the reader to Faye Morgan who is living in her family home and running her family shop leading a somewhat ordinary life. Faye is a bit lonely however so she decides to cast a love spell to find herself a man not realizing just how powerful a witch she is coming from a long line of witches.

Well Faye’s spell does the charm so to speak when in walks Finn Beatha who is not only a faerie but the faerie king. Insert some very steamy moments between Faye and Finn and then you wonder who is under who’s spell as Finn takes Faye into his own faerie world.

Now, first let me say the author does seem to show strong writing but regardless I still felt this had several issues that kept me from becoming totally engaged and enjoying the story. The first I noticed is there really doesn’t seem to be any depth to anyone or anything other than Faye herself but things just kind of added in instead. Then the start left a bit to be desired to me just putting the two together when I would prefer maybe a tad bit of “romance” to the relationship.

Not getting overly interested in the beginning is a red flag but not necessarily a complete turn off if a book picks up for me in the second half. However, once the fantasy side of the story began to shape up I couldn’t help but think that the story seemed to blend in with a lot of other tales with not giving anything new or fresh to the magic or the faerie world creation which left me with a rather meh feeling to that side also. So while this may not have been for me I do see others liking the book so you may want to give this one a try for yourself to decide.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Anna McKerrow has written poetry, children’s and adult books. She lives in London and is originally from the West Country, which gave her accent a subtle (yet noticeable) pirate twang as well as a love of cream teas and all things mystical.

She is an eclectic pagan witch and feminist who also loves crocheting blankets while watching episodes of Miss Marple. Anna loves mythology, magic, tarot, punk, grunge, rock and alternative music, fantasy and sci-fi novels, travel, luxury skincare products, chocolate, spas, candlelight and stormy beaches. She owns the requisite witchy black cat.

Her newest book, Daughter of Light and Shadows, is about a young woman, Faye Morgan, whose life is turned upside down when she becomes romantically involved with the attractive and capricious Faerie king Finn Beatha. Set between a tiny village in Scotland and the hedonistic and evocative world of Faerie, Daughter of Light and Shadows is a sexy and suspenseful page-turner with a dark heart. It will publish in October 2018. The second and third book in the series will follow in late 2018 and early 2019, respectively.

Advertisements

Categories: Uncategorized

4 replies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s