The Other Sister by Sarah Zettel #bookreview #thriller

Title: The Other Sister

Author: Sarah Zettel

Publisher: Grand Central Publishing

Publication Date: August 28, 2018

Page Count: 384

My rating: 2 stars

About the book:

Two sisters. One murder plan.
 
An intense psychological thriller full of family secrets, perfect for readers of The Woman in the Window and Watch Me Disappear.
Everyone thought reckless, troubled Geraldine Monroe was the bad sister-especially when she fled town after her mother’s death twenty-five years ago.
But people don’t know the truth.
Marie Monroe knows. She was there for their father’s cruel punishments, the constant manipulation, the lies. Everyone thinks she’s the perfect daughter-patient and kind, and above all obedient. No one would suspect her of anything. Especially not murder.
Now Geraldine’s home again, and she and Marie have united in a plan for the ultimate revenge. But when old secrets and new fears clash, everyone is pushed to the breaking point . . . and the sisters will learn that they can’t trust anyone-not even each other.
my-review_43_orig
The Other Sister by Sarah Zettel is a thriller that is told by switching the point of view between the characters and also going back into the past. It’s one that has all of that family drama and secrets that need uncovering from years before to find what is going on in the present.
Geraldine is somewhat the black sheep of the family as she left years before after her mother’s death. You see, Geraldine thinks she killed her mother and almost took her own life back then so returning to her sister and father hasn’t been easy.
Geraldine’s sister Marie knows however about the past, the cruel way their father treated them and just what happened all those years before. Now that Geraldine is back it’s time for the sisters to both learn the secrets long ago buried.
Well, for me the Other Sister was one of those thriller books that I just did not find that thrilling to be honest. The story started off alright but I had trouble connecting to the characters and really getting engaged with their story as the pacing in this one was incredibly slow to me. While a slow build is one that easily loses my attention I’m sure some would still enjoy this one as the ending wasn’t too bad when the twists were revealed but just not my cup of tea overall.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Sarah Zettel is an award-winning author. She has written eighteen novels and multiple short stories over the past seventeen years in addition to practicing tai chi, learning to fiddle, marrying a rocket scientist and raising a rapidly growing son.

Advertisements

Categories: Uncategorized

2 replies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s