Fire and Heist by Sarah Beth Durst

Title: Fire and Heist

Author: Sarah Beth Durst

Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers

Publication Date: December 4, 2018

Page Count: 304

My rating: 4 stars

About the book:

Fans of Cassandra Clare and Julie Kagawa will devour this contemporary fantasy about a teen were-dragon who must steal her first treasure. But a dark discovery during her heist could put her family in incredible danger.

In Sky Hawkins’s family, leading your first heist is a major milestone–even more so than learning to talk, walk, or do long division. It’s a chance to gain power and acceptance within your family, and within society. But stealing your first treasure can be complicated, especially when you’re a wyvern–a human capable of turning into a dragon.

Embarking on a life of crime is never easy, and Sky discovers secrets about her mother, who recently went missing, the real reason her boyfriend broke up with her, and a valuable jewel that could restore her family’s wealth and rank in their community.

With a handpicked crew by her side, Sky knows she has everything she needs to complete her first heist, and get her boyfriend and mother back in the process. But then she uncovers a dark truth about were-dragon society–a truth more valuable and dangerous than gold or jewels could ever be.

my-review_43_orig - Edited

Fire and Heist by Sarah Beth Durst is a young adult fantasy read that is a standalone story. The author described her idea for this one as wanting to write Ocean’s Eleven with Were-dragons so of course this odd description definitely got my curiosity aroused. It’s safe to say when done too this doesn’t really remind me of anything I’ve read before which for me is a good thing.

Sky Hawkin is a teenage Wyvern, a human with the ability to shift into a dragon, although the Wyvern here on Earth have lost the ability to shift and can only conjure fire. Wyvern’s also have a fetish for shiny expensive things, especially gold so how do they go about acquiring it you ask? By stealing of course.

Sky’s family however is on the outs in the Wyvern community after her mother went on a heist and didn’t return. Obviously something went wrong but Sky’s brothers and father refuse to do anything to find out what happened so Sky intends to plan her own heist to try to find her mother.

Now, with a book about dragons I wasn’t quite expecting to jump into what reads more YA contemporary with family drama but the story started a little on the funny side and piqued my curiosity regardless. As the book went along and I’m beginning to wonder if the world is basically ours with these supposed “dragons” that aren’t more than humans without a lighter to create fire what was the point to including Wyverns but thankfully the story eventually got around to more dragon-ish things to satisfy my curiosity. In the end I found it a rather cute mostly contemporary with a dash of fantasy read and would suggest giving it a try.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Sarah Beth Durst is the award-winning author of numerous fantasy books for children, teens, and adults, including ConjuredDrink Slay Love, and The Queen of Blood. She won an ALA-YALSA Alex Award and a Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature, and has been a finalist for the Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy three times. Sarah lives in Stony Brook, New York, with her husband, her children, and her ill-mannered cat. You can follow her on Facebook, on Instagram, and on Twitter at @sarahbethdurst, or visit her at sarahbethdurst.com.

Advertisements

Categories: Uncategorized

8 replies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s