The Ever After by Sarah Pekkanen #bookreview #drama

Title: The Ever After

Author: Sarah Pekkanen

Publisher: Atria Books

Publication Date: June 5, 2018

Page Count: 272

My rating:   3 stars

About the book:

In this intricate and enthralling domestic drama, perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Affair, the internationally bestselling author of the “gossipy page-turner” (GlamourThe Perfect Neighbors goes deep into a marriage in crisis, peeling back layers of secrets to discover where the relationship veered off course—and whether it is worth saving.

Josie and Frank Moore are happy…at least Josie thinks they are. As parents of two young girls in the Chicago suburbs, their days can be both busy and monotonous, and sometimes Josie wonders how she became a harried fortysomething mother rather than the driven career woman she once was. But Frank is a phenomenal father, he’s handsome and charismatic, and he still looks at his wife like she’s the beautiful woman he married more than a decade ago. Josie isn’t just happy—she’s lucky.

Until one Saturday morning when Josie borrows her husband’s phone to make a quick call—and sees nine words that shatter her world.

Now Josie feels as if she is standing at the edge of a sharp precipice. As she looks back at pivotal moments in the relationship she believed would last fo

rever, she is also plunging ahead, surprising everyone (especially herself) with how far she will go to uncover the extent of her husband’s devastating secret.

With her “conversational writing style and a knack for making readers care about her characters” (The Washington Post) bestselling author Sarah Pekkanen paints a vivid, kaleidoscopic portrait of a marriage before and during a crisis—and of a woman who fears that the biggest secret of all may be the one she’s hiding from herself.

my-review_43_orig - Edited

Josie is a young mother who believes that while her marriage may not be without flaws it certainly is solid. That is until the day Josie and her husband Frank are rushing to get their two young daughters to a birthday party they make a stop at a Starbucks where Josie realizes she forgot her own phone and needs to borrow Frank’s.

Before Frank returns to the car an email pops up on his phone that looks as if Frank has been having an affair. Livid and hurt Josie is more in a state of shock in the beginning but she knows that she needs to find out the details of just what her husband has been up to before she can make any decisions about their future.

The Ever After by Sarah Pekkanen is a domestic drama that takes a closer look at a couple that are experiencing some rocky times in their marriage. While reading this one I found myself quite on the fence with my feelings for the book and going back and forth on it’s merits.

One thing you will find is that Sarah Pekkanen is certainly a talented author as it is easy to move right through the story with her great writing. However, the longer the book went on I found myself thinking quite often, is this it? I just wanted the story to be more than it actually is. There’s certainly drama and the aftermath but I had a hard time with the fact that there really isn’t any answers either although I suppose that would be a realistic approach to a woman in that predicament it felt a let down in a book. When done with this one I know I will certainly read more from this author in the future but this one was just one of those it was ok but forgettable to me reads.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

Sarah Pekkanen is the bestselling author of The Ever AfterThe Opposite of Me, Skipping a Beat, These Girls, The Best of Us, Catching Air, Things You Won’t Say, and The Perfect Neighbors. Her work has been published in People, The Washington Post, and USA TODAY, among other publications. She lives with her family in Chevy Chase, Maryland.

Advertisements

Categories: Uncategorized

13 replies

    • The lack of any real conclusion or information is what really bothers me. I may have felt differently and able to root Josie on one way or another if I knew the real story but it’s hard to get behind a decision to stay or go without knowing the truth. Is she going to stay and be cheated and walked on all over again or if she leaves is giving up something she shouldn’t and her husband truly sorry? I believe in some forgiveness but I also believe in getting out if it’s hopeless so I was just frustrated when I was done reading.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, she definitely does so I’ll continue to pick them up as I see them but hopefully she’ll do another Wife Between Us type of read next time. 🙂

      Like

  1. Oh.. I had high hopes for this novel after reading The Wife Between Us… seems like she’s at her best when she works together with Greer :-). It doesn’t seem to have the same amount of twists and thrills and is more drama.. Thanks for your honest review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s