Something In The Water by Catherine Steadman #bookreview #thriller

Title: Something In The Water

Author: Catherine Steadman

Publisher: Ballantine Books

Publication Date: June 5, 2018

Page Count: 352

My rating:   3 1/2 stars

About the book:

A shocking discovery on a honeymoon in paradise changes the lives of a picture-perfect couple in this taut psychological thriller debut—for readers of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Shari Lapena.

If you could make one simple choice that would change your life forever, would you?

Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough, Mark a handsome investment banker with big plans. Passionately in love, they embark on a dream honeymoon to the tropical island of Bora Bora, where they enjoy the sun, the sand, and each other. Then, while scuba diving in the crystal blue sea, they find something in the water. . . .

Could the life of your dreams be the stuff of nightmares?

Suddenly the newlyweds must make a dangerous choice: to speak out or to protect their secret. After all, if no one else knows, who would be hurt? Their decision will trigger a devastating chain of events. . . .

Have you ever wondered how long it takes to dig a grave?

Wonder no longer. Catherine Steadman’s enthralling voice shines throughout this spellbinding debut novel. With piercing insight and fascinating twists, Something in the Water challenges the reader to confront the hopes we desperately cling to, the ideals we’re tempted to abandon, and the perfect lies we tell ourselves.

my-review_43_orig - Edited

Something In The Water by Catherine Steadman is a thriller that certainly had an opening that should grab readers right away, the main character digging a grave. After finding out that there would be a need for a grave readers jump back in time to find out just what led to that event.

Erin and Mark seem to be very much in love and excited to be planning their wedding and honeymoon. Erin is a budding filmmaker working on a documentary in which she’s interviewing criminals and Mark a successful investment banker. However when Mark loses his job that is where things start to get a little shaky in their perfect bubble.

With the honeymoon already set to happen Erin and Mark agree to set their troubles aside and still go on the vacation to Bora Bora. Sun and surf and adventure seems to be just what the couple need to bring them right back together. When out scuba diving though they make a find in the water that will lead them down a very dangerous path.

Something In The Water was actually very engaging and kept the pages turning rather easily as the events unfolded. For me though as much as I liked finding out more and more I also struggled some with liking Erin, she would get a bit frantic which I would sometimes find annoying. If it really weren’t for those moments though I would have rated higher than 3.5 stars since the story was one that was rather fun to watch unfold and  with this being a debut novel I would certainly be interested in reading more in the future.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

 

About the author:

Catherine Steadman is an actress and writer based in North London. She is known for her roles in Downton Abbey and Tutankhamun, starring alongside Sam Neill, as well as shows including Breathless, The Inbetweeners, The Tudors, and Fresh Meat.

In 2017 she will feature in political thriller Fearless and new BBC comedy Bucket. She also has appeared on stage in the West End including Oppenheimer for the RSC, for which she was nominated for a 2016 Laurence Olivier Award.

Something in the Water is her first novel.

Advertisements

Categories: Uncategorized

8 replies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s