The Little Cottage on the Hill by Emma Davies @Bookouture @Emdavies68 #bookreview #romance

35399867Title: The Little Cottage on the Hill

Author: Emma Davies

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: February 19, 2018

Page Count: 261

My rating:  3 1/2 stars

About the book:

There’s blossom in the trees and daffodils as far as the eye can see. Maddie is looking forward to a fresh start in the countryside, but there’s just one little problem…

Following a scandal at her high-flying PR agency, twenty-six-year-old Maddie flees London to help promote what she thinks is going to be a luxurious holiday retreat in the countryside. Everything is riding on her making a success of this new job…

Yet when she arrives, Maddie is horrified to find a rundown old farm in a terrible state. The brooding and secretive owner, Seth, spent all his money on leasing the land when he fell in love with the beautiful, dishevelled farm cottages and the very romantic story behind them.

When Maddie discovers an old oil painting by the original owner’s wife, she unlocks the secret of the farm’s history and quickly realises she must start getting her hands dirty if this very special place is going to have any chance of survival. As she and Seth begin working together, the stunning view from the top of the hill is not the only thing that’s leaving her breathless…

After weeks of hard work the dream looks like it might become a reality, until a secret from Maddie’s past threatens to snatch it all away again. Can Maddie find a way to save the business and herself? Will she finally find a place to keep her heart within the crumbling walls of the little cottage on the hill?

Perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan, Lucy Diamond and Debbie Johnson who are looking to escape to the countryside and fall in love watching the seasons change.

my-review_43_orig

The Little Cottage on the Hill by Emma Davies is the perfect example of a book that makes me find it hard to toss one to the side without finishing. This little romance read started off a bit rough in my opinion but wound up being a nice little story.

In the beginning of the book readers are dropped in on Maddie arriving at the farm and meeting Seth but there wasn’t a lot of lead in even giving readers the hint as to why Maddie is even there. Now for those like myself that read a synopsis deciding to read a book but having a bit of time pass before picking that title back up to actually read it you just might have forgotten what the story should be.

As Maddie and Seth first meet in the book I’d have to say that quite honestly neither were coming off as likable at all either. Perhaps that just may have been my frustration of wondering what was happening too but it was definitely a rocky start for the story for me as I mentioned.

However, being one that doesn’t like to give up one a book all too often I kept on reading and slowly the author began to unravel the mysteries that had plagued me at the beginning. As the story moves on it actually becomes quite engaging and a rather nice tale as Maggie and Seth end up working side by side to restore the property. By the end of this book I was actually kind of sad to be leaving these characters and the countryside. So in the end I’d give this title 3.5 stars as it was definitely worth the read once it got going.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /   Amazon

About the author:

After a varied career Emma Davies once worked for a design studio where she was asked to provide a fun and humorous anecdote for their website. She wrote the following: ‘I am a bestselling novelist currently masquerading as a thirty something mother of three.’ Well the job in the design studio didn’t work out but she’s now a forty something mother of three, and is working on the rest.

Today she’s a finance manager and looks at numbers a lot of the time, so at night she likes to throw them away and play with words, practicing putting them together into sentences. Pop over to her website http://www.emmadaviesauthor.com where, amongst other things, you can read about her passion for Pringles and singing loudly in the car.

You can also Wave to her on twitter @Emdavies68 or find her on Facebook (a little too often than is good for her).

 

Advertisements

Categories: Uncategorized

7 replies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s