Keep Her Safe by Richard Jay Parker @Bookwalter @bookouture #bookreview #thriller

Standard

36512813

Title: Keep Her Safe

Author: Richard Parker

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: January 11, 2018

Page Count: 329

My rating: 3.5 stars

About the book:

How far would you go to protect your child?

Maggie’s daughter Penny is her whole world… and she’d do anything to protect her. So when Maggie wakes one night to find a strange woman in her home, she runs to lock herself in her bedroom with her child. But Maggie knows why she’s come…

Someone has been targeting mothers and offering them a choice: do as he says or their child disappears. This stranger in her home has until dawn to follow his orders… but Maggie too has the ‘choice’ to make. Can she put the pieces together to stop the cycle before her time is up?

An edge-of-your-seat thriller that will keep you guessing until the last page. Perfect for fans of Adam Croft and Tess Gerritsen.

My review:

There’s nothing really more compelling than a child in danger and from the opening pages Keep Her Safe by Richard Parker set that stage and really piled on the intensity of the situation. Maggie and Holly are meeting in the middle of the night with both ladies being mothers and both would go to the ends of the Earth to protect their child.

Maggie is alone in her home when Holly breaks in but Maggie just can’t call the police because she herself knows why Holly is there. Holly has come to kill Maggie because her daughter is being held by a mystery man that is giving the orders. How does Maggie know this? Because Maggie was his victim too and had her own orders that she had to carry out to get her baby back and isn’t about to let her go now.

The stand off between these two ladies had me on the edge of my seat wondering just how this could all work out in the end. A mother’s love and protectiveness is definitely not something you would want to test so I had no idea just how far the story would go.

However, after the first half of this book the action starts taking the reader on a different journey as the story moves forward and I’m not quite sure I was a fan from that point. The beginning definitely had me from the get go but the second half became where I get to that point I’m thinking to myself just what are you doing?? So I struggled with how to rate this one as it was a bit up and down to me as far as level of enjoyment. I got to the end and questioned some things here and there too so overall I’m going to give this one 3.5 stars. I would definitely read more from this author though as a lot of this was a nail biter for sure.

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

Find this book online: 

Goodreads  /  Amazon

51PdO6CyBtL._SY200_

About the author:

Author of STOP ME – shortlisted for a Specsavers New Blood Dagger Award – and SCARE ME.

SCARE ME has been snapped up by major Hollywood studio, Relativity Media. Wentworth (Prison Break/Stoker) Miller has just completed the screenplay.

His third stand alone thriller STALK ME is due to be published February 2014 (US/Canada) and March 2014(UK) by Angry Robot crime imprint Exhibit A.

He is currently writing a follow up to SCARE ME.

A professional TV writer for twenty-two years he started by submitting material to the BBC. After contributing to a wide variety of TV shows he became a head writer, script editor and producer.

He has now moved from London to Salisbury but in no way hates London.

Check out: www.richard-parker.com

Find him on Twitter @Bookwalter

 

Advertisements

10 responses »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s